Governance archive

The Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) was founded in 2011 as a not-for-profit, independent standards-setting organisation. SASB’s mission was to establish and maintain industry-specific standards that assist companies in disclosing financially material, decision-useful sustainability information to investors.

In 2017, SASB transitioned to a two-tier governance structure. This structure included a board of directors (“the SASB Foundation Board”) and a standards-setting board (“the SASB Standards Board”). The SASB Standards Board developed, issued, and maintained the SASB Standards. The SASB Foundation Board oversaw the strategy, finances, and operations of the organisation, and appointed the members of the SASB Standards Board. The SASB Foundation Board was not involved in setting standards, but it was responsible for overseeing the SASB Standards Board’s compliance with the organization’s due process requirements.

In 2021, SASB merged with the International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC) into the Value Reporting Foundation (VRF). The SASB Foundation Board of Directors and the IIRC Board of Directors combined to form the Value Reporting Foundation Board of Directors (“the VRF Board”). A governing board, the VRF Board was responsible for overseeing the strategy, finances, and operations of the organisation and appointing members of the SASB Standards Board.

  • For a list of historical VRF Board members, please click here.
  • For a list of historical SASB Foundation Board members, please click here.
  • For a list of historical SASB Standards Board members, please click here.

We thank the many people who served as governing or technical Board members for SASB and the Value Reporting Foundation. In 2022, the VRF consolidated into the IFRS Foundation to help establish the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB).

Legacy VRF Board Directors (2021-2022):

In 2022, the VRF consolidated into the IFRS Foundation to help establish the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB).

Directors with a * also served on the SASB Foundation Board

  • Chair Emeriti, Michael Bloomberg* and Prof. Judge Mervyn King
  • Joe Allanson, salesforce
  • Alan Beller, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton*
  • Pru Bennett, Brunswick Groupo
  • Rudi Bless, Bank of America*
  • Else Bos, De Nederlandsche Bank*
  • Catherine Bradley, PSA Peugeot Citroen S.A.
  • Helen Brand, Association of Chartered Certified Accountants
  • Alexsandro Brodel Lopes, Itaú Unibanco
  • Koushik Chatterjee, Tata Steel
  • Audrey Choi, Morgan Stanley*
  • Michelle Collins, Deloitte*
  • Aron Cramer, Business for Social Responsibility
  • Deborah DeHaas, Corporate Leadership Center*
  • Jane Diplock, Former Chair of GAN, IIRC
  • Paul Druckman, World Benchmarking Alliance*
  • Ken Goldman, Hillspire*
  • Janine Guillot, CEO, Value Reporting Foundation*
  • Steve Gunders, Deloitte – retired *
  • Robert Herz, FASB – retired*
  • Michael Jantzi, Sustainalytics*
  • Conor Kehoe, Chair of the IIRC Council
  • Tetsuo Kitagawa, WICI Japan & Emeritus Professor, Aoyama Gakuin University
  • Izumi Kobayashi, Keizai Doyukai
  • Paula Loop, PwC – retired*
  • Jim McIntire, Former Washington State Treasurer – retired*
  • Barry Melancon, AICPA
  • David Nussbaum, The Elders Foundation – retired
  • Mary Schapiro, Bloomberg LP & Former Chairman, US SEC*
  • Richard Sexton, PwC – retired*
  • UK Sinha, Former Chairman, SEBI
  • Robert Steel, PWP*
  • Robert Swaak, ABN AMRO
  • Roy Swan, Ford Foundation*
  • Charles Tilley, former CEO, IIRC
  • Laura Tyson, Haas School of Business*
  • Sarah Williamson, Focusing Capital for the Long Term
  • Jay Willoughby, The Investment Fund for Foundations*
  • Takatoshi Yamamoto, Independent Director, Hitachi, Ltd. and Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd
  • Chuck Zegar, Zegar Family Foundation*

Legacy SASB Foundation Board Directors (2011-2021):

  • Founding Chair Robert Eccles, Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford
  • Jack Ehnes, CalSTRS – retired
  • Stephen Haggerty, Columbia Business School
  • Dan Hanson, Neuberger Berman
  • Erika Karp, Pathstone
  • John Katovich, Cutting Edge Capital
  • Peter Knight, Generation Investment Management
  • Robert Hirth, Protiviti
  • Steven Lydenberg
  • Shawn Lytle, Macquarie Asset Management
  • Suz Mac Cormac, Morrison & Foerster
  • Ken Mehlman, KKR
  • Clara Miller, Heron Foundation*
  • Cathy Odelbo, Morningstar – retiredKevin Parker, SICM*
  • Aulana Peters, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP—retired
  • Arnold Pinkston, Allergon – retired
  • Curtis Ravenel, TCFD
  • Jean Rogers, SASB Founder
  • Anne Sheehan, CalSTRS
  • Ed Waitzer, Stikeman Elliott LLP
  • Elisse Walter, SEC – retired*
  • Matthew Welch, SASB President & COO
  • Ted White, Fahr LLC

Legacy SASB Standards Board Members (2017-2022):

(Click here for an archive of Standards Board meetings)

  • Chair Jeffrey Hales, PhD, Charles T. Zlatkovich Centennial Professor of Accounting, University of Texas at Austin
  • Co-Vice Chair Verity Chegar, Member of the Sustainable Investment and Stewardship Strategies team, California State Teachers’ Retirement System
  • Co-Vice Chair Robert B. Hirth, Jr., Senior Managing Director, Protiviti, Chairman Emeritus, Committee of Sponsoring Organisations of the Treadway
  • Commission (COSO)
  • Daniel L. Goelzer, JD, Retired Partner, Baker & McKenzie LLP
  • Kurt Kuehn, Former CFO, UPS
  • Lloyd Kurtz, CFA, Senior Portfolio Manager, Head of Social Impact Investing, Wells Fargo Private Bank
  • Elizabeth Seeger, Managing Director, Sustainable Investing, KKR
  • Marc Siegel, Partner, EY
  • Susanne Stormer, Partner, Head of Sustainability, PwC Denmark
  • Stephanie Tang, JD, Senior Counsel, Benchling
  • Mark Vaessen, Partner, KPMG in the Netherlands